Botany

I covered botany during 2 blocks last year.. and I am finally getting around to posting our work! First, here is a list of the resources that I used:

 
Botany by Charles Kovacs


The Plant, Vol. 1 by Gerbert Grohmann


Botany – A Golden science guide (used in reference for drawings)


Drawing from the Book of Nature came to me during our second botany block. I wish I would have had it from the beginning, as it is a perfect guide for this kind of drawing.

From A Waldorf Journey: Grade Five Guide to Wet-on-Wet Watercolor Painting

Eugene Schwartz’s Elements of Grade 5

…as well as Live Ed Botany.

Here are my 5th Grader’s main lesson book pages from this block:

5th grader 1 botany cover  5th grader 2 botany secret of nature5th grader 3 fungi  5th grader 4 algae5th grader 5 lichen  5th grader 6 botany ferns5th grader 7 conifers  5th grader 8 monocot dicot5th grader 9 monocot dicot  5th grader 10 flower5th grader 11 roots  5th grader 12 leaves5th grader 13 beans bees  5th grader 14 poem5th grader 15 grasses  5th grader 16 oak5th grader 17 birch  5th grader 20 world mountain

And here are a few of my drawings:

mom 1 secret of nature  mom 01 fungi  mom 2 mossesmom 3 flower  mom 4 monocotyledon  mom 5 flowermom 6 grasses  mom 9 conifers  mom 8 conifermom 7 oak

This entry was posted in Botany, Grade 5. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Botany

  1. Cathy says:

    Wow.
    Your daughter’s book is beautiful. Both the drawings and handwriting. I think you could write an e-book on “How to Create Beautiful Main Lesson Books” – I’m sure it would be a big seller in the Waldorf homeschooling community!
    Thank you for posting these. Your blog is such an inspiration to me. Have a great year in grades 6 and 4!

  2. Pingback: Friday Linky Love! | The Parenting Passageway

  3. Jennifer says:

    Such beautiful work. Wonderful inspiration as we start our Botany work. Thank you for sharing!

  4. Alyce says:

    Beautiful and inspiring work, and I want to learn how to draw so well! Any advice?

    • Waldorf Mom says:

      Advice? Hmmm… well, I am not an artist, but I can give a little advice anyway! I say that you should start by just drawing, every day, if you can. Look in books and on the web at other Waldorfy drawings and copy! With practice, you will be able to create your own work based on the story or subject. I still copy quite a bit. I think it is wonderful. In fact, in seventh grade we are supposed to copy directly from the great works of the Renaissance artists. That should be a challenge for both my daughter and me, and I am looking forward to it.

      For the younger children, we want to draw in a sort of ‘building up’ way. So we may shape an apple from the inside out, instead of drawing a circle and filling it in. Things are never outlined and colored in. Nothing in the world is created that way, is it? A tree grows from a seed, reaching upward to the sky, and downward under the earth at the same time. We draw the tree in the same way. In this way, there are fewer mistakes that cannot be remedied. You can add a little more over here, and over there, in order to get the perfect shape of the apple or whatever. If you draw a circle, and it doesn’t look right, you are stuck with it.

      As they get older, we do a little more ‘outlining’… kind of. With skill this begins to unfold naturally. But when my children were in grades 1-4… outlining was strictly prohibited!

      There are several books that I have mentioned on this site that will help too. I like the one I mentioned in this post, Drawing from the Book of Nature. It is quite good. Sigi de Francesca’s book “Coloring with Block Crayons” is great too. She really shows how to use this building-up method. I think her book would work just as well if you prefer stick crayons, which many people do. I was fortunate to have crayon drawing, painting, pencil drawing, and even shadow puppetry classes by her. What a treat!

      • Alyce says:

        Thanks so much for sharing advice and resources. I’m getting started by drawing more and I ordered a couple of the books you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

