Grammar Land – Parts of Speech – Part 2

We have been continuing on our Grammar Land studies! We read about Dr. Verb’s Nominative (subjective) Case. I did not bother doing any writing about the Nominative Case, but we did find the subjects of the verse at the end of the chapter.

Next up was Adverb‘s story! Following suggestions from Live Ed’s curriculum, I put the following categories on the board: HOW, WHEN, WHERE, HOW OFTEN.

And then a little guidance to get her started… A cat sleeps how? “QUIETLY. Daddy sleeps LOUDLY! Ha ha ha!” How does a lion roar? Loudly too, good. That would be perfect if we were writing a book about lions. Then the reader would know that a lion’s roar is loud. But what if we were writing a story? A lion’s roar is always loud. How else could we describe it?” (hmmmm… long pause) “Mightily”. Good! Mightily. Now that gives us a certain picture of the lion… the king of the animals, and the other animals know it! What about “Ferociously”? That sounds a little scarier, doesn’t it? It seems as though danger is more eminent, to me.

Next I gave her 2 simple sentences:

The cat purrs.

Thor’s hammer shines.

I asked her to add an adjective and adverb to each sentence to make them more interesting:

The fuzzy cat purrs loudly.

Thor’s wonderful hammer shines brightly.

Yes, now these sentences are much more interesting!


Lastly, we wrote the definition of adverb, and the two interesting sentences. Plus Thor’s Hammer shining brightly!

Next up… Prepositions!
The past couple of days I decided to start reading The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths, which I was able to get from my local library. I like what I have read of the book so far, as it is beautifully written. The language is rich and a little complex… great for expanding those little minds. The children have heard most of the stories before, from the D’Aulaires’ Book of Norse Myths, but this book offers the stories is a different order, plus it is more detailed in it’s description. Not to mention it is a good excuse to visit the Norse Myths again!

After circle, I read the story of Idunn and her Apples, we drew a knot form (from Eugene Schwartz’ Elements of 4th Grade CD), and  read the Preposition story from Grammar-Land.


After the story we set to drawing a picture of the eagle carrying Idunn to her prison. This is my 4th grader’s drawing of Idunn, holding her basket of shining apples, as they fall from the sky and splash into the river below. Next we wrote a long sentence (mostly from the Children of Odin book), which describes beautifully where Idunn was going. Lots of prepositions! Finally we titled the page “Idunn and her Prepositions”, instead of “Idunn and her Apples”, which got a ton of laughs.

My picture of Idunn… not nearly as inspired as my 4th grader’s. Notice I forgot to color ‘of’ as a preposition, but she caught it. Hey… who’s the teacher here anyway?

And finally… Conjunction!

We read his chapter in Grammar-Land, and he says that in his spare time he likes to put trains (sentences) together using his tools (words). I could not resist… ‘Conjunction, Junction, What’s your Function?’ My daughter laughed and obviously thinks I am very witty now. Just wait until someone tells her it is from Schoolhouse Rock. It is only a matter of time before I am exposed as a “child-who-formerly-spent-Saturdays-watching-cartoons-instead-of-modeling-beeswax.” Shhhhhh!

I made my picture with train tracks and asked her to do the same, but I went to help my son with his work and came back to some sort of fanciful platform instead. What happened to the train tracks? ‘Oh, I forgot.’ Ah, well. She enjoyed it and composed the sentences too. We also circled all of the conjunctions in the story at the end of the chapter.

This entry was posted in Grade 4, Grammar, Language Arts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

