Grade 6 – Astronomy

I have not posted in a while because honestly, my daughter and I were struggling during the first part of the year. But we have seemed to reach our stride, and I am feeling better about homeschooling and ready to share again! I’ll start with a block from last semester… Astronomy. You can tell in my daughter’s handwriting and drawings that she was not pleased with me, but hopefully there will be something here to give some inspiration!

I mostly followed Eugene’ Schwartz’s lessons. He indicated that it is best to steer clear of the traditional focus on the constellations, as this is something that is readily found anywhere, and to map these constellations and draw their pictures seems a little public-schoolish. We can do better, he says.

So, if we are not covering constellations, then what are we to do? We help the child to understand our relationship with the cosmos around us. The earth, moon, sun and stars. Where are they in the sky? How do they “move around us”? This was a wonderful way to approach the subject, especially considering that my daughter has been fascinated by astronomy since 2nd grade, and had already read H.A. Rey’s book on the subject, plus a few others. And, she can already find the constellations on her own.

My Resources for this Block:


Geology and Astronomy by Charles Kovacs

 
Sky Phenomena: A Guide to Naked-eye Observation of the Stars


The Stars by H. A. Rey

So we began by going outside several times in one night to track the movement of the stars. We drew pictures showing their movement in each of the four directions. Next we discovered how we see the stars in different places, depending on our latitude. These lessons come directly from Eugene Schwartz. The “movement” of the stars is covered in detail in Sky Phenomena, and the relationship of the pole star to our latitude is covered in The Stars.

Grade 6 Astonomy east west

Grad 6 Astronomy star patterns

Grad 6 Astronomy (5)

Before the block, we observed the moon for a month, and my daughter recorded the changes. Then we learned how to find the moon in the sky, according to the cycle and season:

Grad 6 Astronomy moon first quarter Grad 6 Astronomy moon fullGrad 6 Astronomy moon third quater Grad 6 Astronomy moon waxing crescentGrad 6 Astronomy moon

We learned about the sizes and distances between the sun, moon, and earth:

Grad 6 Astronomy earth size

So, even though Eugene convinced me that his approach to astronomy is better than simply covering the constellations, we tried to sneak in a few of them anyway (inspired by Live Ed’s Astronomy book):

Grad 6 Astronomy constellation cover

Grad 6 Astronomy great bear

Here are a few of my drawings:

Grade 6 Astronomy Mom first quarter moon Grade 6 Astronomy Mom great bear Grade 6 Astronomy Mom looking eastGrade 6 Astronomy Mom moon 2 Grade 6 Astronomy Mom moon1 Grade 6 Astronomy Mom pole star

 

And finally, I asked my children to continue working while I took a quick shower. When I came back, my daughter informed me that she has balanced her ruler perfectly and has taken photographs to prove it. Me: “Umm… did you get any further with your picture”? Her: “No, I wanted you to see the ruler.” Excellent.

IMG_2509IMG_2511

This entry was posted in Astronomy, Grade 6. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grade 6 – Astronomy

  1. suebuttonSue says:

    I have just found your blog and had booked marked it as we have similar aged children, so I was so pleased when you posted again! I am in the UK, and homeschool my 3 children, waldorf inspired. I too have many times of struggling with the curriculum and wonder why on earth I do it!!! Some weeks/months are better than others. Please tell your daughter that her works looks wonderful, and has inspired me, I too was struggling through Grade Six. What maths do you do? my biggest area of worry!!! Thanks Sue x

    • Waldorf Mom says:

      Hello Sue, thank you for your kind words. We are mostly using Making Math Meaningful by Jamie York. There are teaching guides for elementary and middle school, plus workbooks for middle and high school. I use a composition book to make up daily math practice for my 4th grader, which generally takes 15-20 minutes to complete.

      • I love your post. Our children are very close in age my DS is 5th(so getting some insight to 6th grade is much appreciated). My DD is 2nd/3rd one of those weird birthdays. I hope to read more out 6th grade. Thanks for sharing your daughters amazing MLB.

Leave a Reply

