Grade 6 – Economics

This is our first venture into the world of business math. Using Eugene Schwartz’s lectures as a guide, I introduced a few economic ideas during the block, then we practiced the mathematic concepts more during the rest of the year.

We started with a history of bartering and money:

1 history of bartering

2 history of money

Then I presented a lesson about the first international banks, created by medieval knights during the crusades:

3 history of banking

And we further explored the modern concepts of banking, loans, and interest:

4 banking and interest

5 interest

In preparation for this block, I read Mathematics Lessons for the Sixth Grade by Ernst Schuberth, but I did not find much of it helpful. Maybe a chapter or so. I found a few more helpful bits in Math Lessons for Elementary Grades by Dorothy Harrer. I often use Making Math Meaningful as a reference and guide, and this block was no exception. However, I used Eugene Schwartz’s information more than anything else.


Making Math Meaningful:
A Middle School Math Curriculum for Teachers and Parents

This entry was posted in Economics, Grade 6, Math. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Grade 6 – Economics

  1. Hi Teri, You mention Eugene’s lectures a lot. I looked at the website and it states that they have PDF notes included – are they transcripts of the lectures? Do they include visuals, such as samples of student work, or are they only available as part of the videos during the 2 week viewing period? Did you find that only being able to access the audios and videos for 2 weeks was enough? I’d be interested in hearing the pros and cons of this format. Clearly you took a lot of really useful information away, but it’s such a lot of money for one grade, a huge chunk of annual budget with no return from selling on used materials. Would you say you got your money’s worth? Thanks, Cathy

    • Waldorf Mom says:

      Hi Cathy,

      I do wish that the cost of Eugene’s conferences were not so high. I had the same concerns as you. Not having physical books to refer to and resell is not preferred. However, Eugene’s lectures have changed the way I teach. I have a deeper understanding of the lessons now. There are concepts in his lectures that I have not seen in A Little Garden Flower, Live Ed, or Christopherus.

      The two week time period is a challenge. I had to dedicate many hours a day to listen and take notes from the lectures. I knew I would forget some things when it came time to teach, so I basically transcribed the lectures. Thankfully I can type fairly well. I do think that he would extend the conference if you need a little more time. Some of the best parts of the conference are the video demonstrations. There was so much work involved in Physics, for instance, but the videos took so much of the ‘head-scratching’ time away! I could spend my time getting the lessons and materials together, instead of wasting time trying to figure out what I am supposed to do. Same with form drawing and geometry. He took out all of the guess work.

      The files that are included are supplementary… He may refer to them during his audio lectures. The pictures of the student work is purchased separately for $20. Those files are downloaded onto your computer, so they are always available for reference.

      He offers samples of his audio and video presentations for each grade on his website. I would suggest listening to these lectures before deciding to purchase the conference.

      Teri

      • Thanks, Teri. That’s really helpful. Certainly something to think about. It’s a shame the workshops are not available on dvd or a one year access……I have one more question, the pictures of the student work you refer to, are those his “elements of grade ____” CDs? Now I have another question LOL, will you buy again for grade 7? Cathy

      • Waldorf Mom says:

        A one year access is a great idea. That would be wonderful! Yes, the pictures of student work are the “Elements” CDs. I will definitely buy seventh grade.

Leave a Reply

