Grade 4 Fractions

Here are a few of my son’s pages of his Fractions Main Lesson Book from 4th grade. I used the indications from Live Education, but there is really nothing all that earth-shattering in their Fractions book. You can probably make up any story, or adapt any story to introduce fractions. Although their multiplication and division story is quite funny!

I also used, as usual:

 
Making Math Meaningful: A Source Book for Teaching Math in Grades One Through Five

If you are unfamiliar with this book, I can tell you that it is not a ‘curriculum’, but it simply provides a guide for what to teach and some ideas on how and when to teach the concepts. I love the way that he explains dividing fractions. This is a concept I should go over every few months with my children.

So we began with one whole:

02 Fractions One

I gave my son a stack of circle cardstock that I bought at a craft store (Michael’s, I think), and we began to work on the basic divisions and equivalents. He drew the fractions on the circles, cut them out, then glued them on the page with glue dots. We reviewed the previous day’s fractions on the board before going on to the next.

03 Fractions 04 Fractions

05 Fractions 06 Fractions

Live Ed uses the story of a kingdom named Wylynn, where the land is parceled out for different activities such as farming, horse ranching, cattle ranching and such. Then each year the King’s advisor presents a tally of the kingdom to the King:07 Fractions Wylynn08 Fractions Wylynn

At the end of the year, he made a nice cover for the book:

1 Fractions Cover

After our introductory fractions block, we reviewed and expanded on what he had learned for the rest of the year. For this, we used the the Key to Fractions workbooks. This set works well for us. The authors really present fractions in a manageable way. My daughter flew through this set in fourth and fifth grade. There are so many repetitive problems in this series, that I had her skip many of them. I would put a box around the problems that I wanted her to do each day. For my son, the repetition seems worthwhile, so I have him do most of the work in the book. For that reason, he only finished the first book last year, and he has just started (in fifth grade) the second book.

 
Key to Fractions

In addition to all of that, it is fairly easy to find fractions all around us, so I try to frequently ask my children things like, If I cut the pizza into thirds, and then I cut each piece in half, how much of the pizza will each piece be? If Dad eats three pieces, how much of the pizza will he have eaten? I don’t know why, but fractions always seem to lead to food!

This entry was posted in Grade 4, Math. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

